Siirry sisältöön

Serbia Joins EMN as Observer Country

The conclusion of the signature took place in the margins of the meeting between EU Commissioner for Home Affairs Ylva Johansson, Serbian Minister of European Integration Tanja Miščević (back right) and Serbian Commissioner for Refugees and Migration Nataša Stanisavljević (front right).

European Migration Network further expanded on March 16 2023 as officially joined EMN as an Observer Country.

Serbia and the European Commission signed the Administrative Arrangement on March 16 2023 in Belgrade, Serbia.

Joining the EMN will further deepen cooperation between EU and Serbia especially in migration and asylum affairs. Exchange of up-to-date, reliable and comparable information between EU and Serbia will also be facilitated and EU’s cooperation with third countries is enhanced.

EMN is constantly developing its cooperation with third countries and the observer country status is an excellent channel for information exchange. Earlier this year Ukraine, Montenegro and Armenia joined the EMN as observer, following Georgia, Moldova and Norway from previous years.

Link to press conference: uuteen ikkunaan, siirryt toiseen palveluun)